top of page
IMG-20230907-WA0019.jpg
  • nigelhillpaul6

AIRPORT LIFE

Updated: Dec 19, 2023

I walk in out of the rain and shake myself like a dog in the porch before striding into the office flexing my hand and grimacing in pain and stretching my fingers.

Budden bounces up out of BCal Bay looking for mischief; 'Sven, my little Handling Agent monkey! How're things? Have you hurt your delicate little hand?'

I wince and tell him I think I've twisted my finger closing a 737 door (heavy and awkward).

By this stage a few others have circled around, thinking they can take the Mickey out if the New Boy.

'Would you like me to rub it better?'

Quick as a flash the hand is thrust out as I remind him he's the First-Aider on shift, which gets a laugh from the onlookers, but not the one he was expecting.

Sourly he grips my hand and starts inspecting it as I tell him I think the knuckle on my first finger has locked or frozen in place.

'Well, what do you bloody suggest I do? Give it a tug?'

'Would you, Bob? I think that might help'.

You could tell by the look on his face that he was miffed at missing out on a opportunity to take the piss, so he gave my finger a sharp tug.

A sound like a mosquito flying into a thunderstorm and an acrid stench filled the office and the the office emptied with cries of disgust and horror leaving Budden and myself, him staring at me, a tear rolling down his chubby face, wrinkled now against the malodorous stink .

'You're the most disgusting man I've ever met'.

'Gee, thanks Bob'.

'No, I really hate you'.

'You can let go of my finger now, Bob'.


September 2016



15 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

AIRPORT LIFE

I followed the last passengers down to the door of the aircraft and started talking to the cabin crew while the final checks were being...

AIRPORT LIFE

Have you ever wanted to kick a child in the arse so hard, that like that cow, he’d fly up over the moon? Well, I was giving it serious...

AIRPORT LIFE

I strode into the office out of a sudden autumn squall, chewing my way through the last mouthfuls of my bun. Budden bounced up out of...

Comentários


bottom of page