top of page
IMG-20230907-WA0019.jpg
  • nigelhillpaul6

AIRPORT LIFE


I strode into the office out of a sudden autumn squall, chewing my way through the last mouthfuls of my bun.

Budden bounced up out of BCal Bay looking for mischief; 'Sven, my little Handling Agent monkey! How're things? Where's our breakfast?'

There are certain flights Dispatchers compete to meet as the leftover meals are top quality, and in the morning, you can't beat an inbound Jersey for breakfast. There was always the duty of stripping the galley of coffees, teas, etc, etc, so I was struggling with an armful of kitchen supplies, paperwork, and the remains of the third bun I was scoffing.

By this stage a few others have circled around, thinking they can take the mickey out of the New Boy.

Taking one of the last bites out of a double bacon-and-cheese-and-mushroom bun, and I, trying not to forget my mother's strictures about talking with my mouth full, held up a finger, indicating I was about to say something, just as I felt a dollop of ketchup escape the corner of my mouth, but Bob taking the opportunity of a rare moments silence, pressed the advantage.

'Nothing to say, junior? Mouth too dry after scoffing those buns you could have bought back to your betters? I suppose you'd like me to make you a cup of tea?'

That bit of bun had left my mouth dry, so I just nodded, but Bob, sensing weakness, pressed home his advantage.

Warming to his theme, he turned to his circle of admirers; 'And of course, in his rush to scoff brekkers, he's spilt tomato ketchup on his chin'.

I sighed, and dabbed at my face with my fingers as Bob, chortling, said 'No, not that chin. The third one', to general merriment.

I smiled and leant forward and picked up his tie and wiped my mouth, making sure I transferred all the ketchup onto that silver and blue patterning as I stood there chewing.

'Any chance of that cup of tea now Bob? Only my mouth's very dry'.

Bob looked down at his silver, blue and red tie and looked up at me.

'I hate you Sven'. 

'Gee, thanks Bob'.

'No, I really hate you'.

I popped in the last mouthful and stood there chewing and smiling.

'Omnomnomnom, Bob'.

I could have killed for that cup of tea.

 

 

 

 17-6-2017

4 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

AIRPORT LIFE

I followed the last passengers down to the door of the aircraft and started talking to the cabin crew while the final checks were being...

AIRPORT LIFE

Have you ever wanted to kick a child in the arse so hard, that like that cow, he’d fly up over the moon? Well, I was giving it serious...

LOST IN PERSIA

I had a proper job once. A job that involved the barking of orders, the kicking of arses and of, well, generally getting stuff done,...

Comments


bottom of page