top of page
IMG-20230907-WA0019.jpg
  • nigelhillpaul6

AIRPORT LIFE


 

'Boing. Boiing. Boiiing. Boiiing'. You can be quite expressive with a 20' perspex ruler, bouncing it on the edge of your desk at different points along its length and varying beat provides a useful indicator of your mood. At the moment its at extremely vexed

'Sven, my dear, what is it they say about women and aviation?' 

'Well, Rocky old love, they say it is a potent cocktail' 

'I'm due my break', with a pointed nod at the source of my irritation. 

I get up and walk into the restroom and switch off the television to howls of distress. 

'We were watching Jeremy Kyle!'

'Not anymore you're not. Wilson; Aberdeen in. Green; Paris in. Bernardis; Atlanta out. Mathews; Kiev out. Kyte; vehicle refuel. Doris....'

'It's Torres'. 

'What?'

'My name. It's Torres'. 

'That's nice. Doris, CalAir; in and out'. 

'I don't do Charter'. 

'Oh, really. Tel Aviv in. And out'. 

'I don't...'

'Lagos? In. And. Out. No? Good. Tel Aviv it is'. 

'Thorpe; go to Stand 64'. 

'What's on 64?'

'Nothing. I just want you to go to 64 so the rest of can get some peace and quiet. Now gather up your broomsticks, put the fire out under the cauldron and go out and pretend you're Dispatchers'. 

'We wanted to have our break together and watch Jeremy Kyle'. 

'What?'

'We said we wanted to have our break together and watch Jeremy Kyle'. 

'That's nice, unfortunately I've got an operation to keep going, so unless you can show me where it says you outrank me when I'm in the chair, move it and don't slam the door on the way out'.

'You've got a problem with ladies'. 

'No, I just haven't met many'.

'Sexism comes easy to you doesn't it?'

'No, I work hard at it'.

 

1-NOV-2016

1 view0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

AIRPORT LIFE

I followed the last passengers down to the door of the aircraft and started talking to the cabin crew while the final checks were being...

AIRPORT LIFE

Have you ever wanted to kick a child in the arse so hard, that like that cow, he’d fly up over the moon? Well, I was giving it serious...

AIRPORT LIFE

I strode into the office out of a sudden autumn squall, chewing my way through the last mouthfuls of my bun. Budden bounced up out of...

Comments


bottom of page